Crashed front end of a car

A car crash can be a traumatic and stressful experience for everyone involved. California requires drivers to have insurance in case of an accident to cover injuries and potential damages.

Unfortunately, not all California residents follow these rules, and crashes with uninsured motorists can happen.

In the following, our car accident lawyers discuss what can happen if someone in California without insurance hits you and how you can protect yourself.

What Are California’s Insurance Requirements? 

According to California law, drivers are required to carry 15/30/5 liability insurance coverage. These minimum liability insurance requirements are:

  • $15,000 for injury or death to one person
  • $30,000 for the total people injured in the accident 
  • $5,000 for property damage

If a driver is caught on the road without insurance, they can face suspension of their driver’s license as well as fines.

What Is Uninsured Motorist Coverage?

Uninsured motorist coverage was created to protect someone involved in a crash with a driver who is uninsured.

Uninsured motorist coverage is an optional addition to insurance policies in California. While this coverage is not mandatory, adding it to your existing policy is wise.

When you have sufficient uninsured motorist coverage and suffer injuries and damages in an accident, depending on your coverages–your insurance company can cover your lost wages, medical expenses, property damage, and general damages for pain and suffering up to the limits of your insurance policy.

Light Vehicle And Bicycle Accident

Uninsured Motorist Claim

In California, if the at-fault party in a car accident carries no insurance, an uninsured motorist claim can be filed with your insurance company if you have the proper coverages.

Bodily injury compensation can be received through an uninsured motorist claim. This compensation covers lost wages, medical expenses, and any other damage that resulted from the injuries in the car accident.

Property damage compensation can also be received to pay for the expenses of replacing or repairing your vehicle and any property that was damaged in the crash if you carry uninsured motorist property damage and collision coverage.

What If You Do Not Have Insurance in California?

In California, if the other driver was at fault for an accident, and you have no insurance, you may still be eligible to recover some compensation for your damages.

However, limits on the compensation amount uninsured drivers can receive are regulated by California law. Uninsured drivers are unable to seek non-economic damages after being in a car crash. Non-economic damages include mental anguish, pain, and suffering.

An uninsured driver who is not responsible for the car accident is still able to file an insurance claim or lawsuit to cover their economic damages. Property damage, lost wages, and medical expenses are economic damages.

Contact a California Car Accident Lawyer

The complexities of a car accident and insurance policies can be difficult to navigate for anyone not well-versed in California law. Things become much more complicated when the accident involves an uninsured driver.

Maho Prentice, LLP, has experienced and knowledgeable car accident lawyers who have fought and successfully pursued uninsured motorist cases for our injured clients. We work tirelessly to defend the rights of those who have been injured in California car accidents and have medical expenses that need to be financially compensated for.
If you have been the victim of an uninsured motorist car accident, contact Maho Prentice, LLP, today using our secure online form to discuss your legal options for seeking rightful compensation.

By otmseo on January 3, 2024